HISTORY: Car 1306 is one of 25 former Central Railroad of New Jersey (CNJ) 76-seat steel commuter coaches built in 1930-1931 by Pressed Steel Car Company. This car sold to the Green Mountain Railroad as one of four railcars bought from New Jersey Transit on July 16th, 1984. It seats 74 in walkover coach.
HISTORY: Car 3101 has a unique history, different from the other ATSF cars. While it was built as part of the same order, it was sold to Penn Central in 1970 and converted to an 84 seat commuter coach #2403. Later it went to Jew Jersey Transit before being sold to the Green Mountain Railroad as car #3101. It has since been rebuilt into a 68-seat table car with a small lounge area on one end.
HISTORY: Car 1312 was also part of the former CNJ series of 76-seat steel commuter coaches. It came to the Green Mountain Railroad on July 16, 1984. It has since been converted into a 48-seat table car with a small serving counter on one end.
HISTORY: Car 1323 is a former CNJ coach that was bought by the Vermont Railway in May 1984. It was rebuilt into an observation car with coach searing and a serving bar. The Vermont Rail System has assigned this car to the Green Mountain Railroad to go along with the others.
HISTORY: Car 280 started as a CNJ car #299, a baggage-coach combine used to deliver company shipments and newspapers along its routes. The car was built in 1925 by Standard Steel Car Co. When retired, it went to Nelson Blount’s Monadnock, Steamtown & Northern Amusements in 1967, and then the GMRC in 1968 as car #280. It seats 48 in walkover coach seating.
HISTORY: Car 1313 is also a part of the former CNJ series of 76-seat steel commuter coaches. It has been turned into a dining car, seating 48 at tables. It came to the GMRC with the other former CNJ cars on July 16, 1984. It is unique in that a vestibule has been closed off to make restrooms.
HISTORY: 1319 is a 72-seat coach was built by Pressed Steel Car Company in 1931 and later became New Jersey Transit car #5151. It became the property of the Green Mountain Railroad in October of 1984, as a control cab-equipped car. The cab has been removed and replaced with vestibule restrooms.